Anambra Assembly Confirms Soludo’s 20 Commissioner-Nominees 

Raymond Ozoji,  Awka
The Anambra State House of Assembly on Thursday confirmed all the 20 commissioner-nominees presented by governor Charles Chukwuma Soludo.
The confirmation followed the adoption of the report of the assembly screening committee at plenary on Thursday in Awka, presented by the committee chairman Rt. Hon. Dr. Paschal Agbodike.
Presenting the report, Agbodike (APGA-Ihiala 1) said that the 20 nominees met the requirements needed to be members of the state executive council of the new administration in the state.
Agbodike said they had all attained the mandatory ages required for appointment as commissioners in the state and showed ability to serve.
Supporting the claim, Hon. Emeka Aforka, (APGA-Orumba North) urged his colleagues to support the motion to allow the governor implement his developmental projects in the state.
The lawmakers, thereafter, confirmed the nominees through a voice vote.
In his remarks, the Speaker of the Assembly, Rt Honourable Uchenna Victor Okafor, urged the nominees to see themselves as agents of positive change in the state.
He also urged them to support governor Soludo in implementing his policies and programmes to uplift the living condition of Ndi-Anambra.
Okafor said the Governor also sent another letter requesting the screening of a new Commissioner for Special Duties, Mr. Silvester Ezeakenwa, for subsequent confirmation.
The  nominees are; Mr Ifeatu Chinedu (Finance), Prof. Ofonze Amucheazi (Lands) Mr Ifeanyi Okoma (Works), Ms Chiamaka Nnake (Budget) Dr Afam Obidike (Health), Mr Patrick Agha-mba (Youth Development), Mrs Ifeyinwa Obinabo (Women/Children Afairs), Dr Obinna Ugonnadi, Mr Julius Chukwuemeka (Power/Water Resources), and Prof. Ngozi Chuma-Udeh (Education).
Others are Mr Paul Nwosu (Information),  Dr Foster Ihejiofor (Agriculture), Mrs Patricia Igwebuike (Transport), Mr Felix Odimegwu (Environment), Mr. Chikodi Anara (Home Land Afairs), Prof. Chika Ifemeje (Attorney General/Commissioner for Justice), Mr Collins Nwabunwanne (Local Government Affairs), Mr Donatus Onyeji (Culture/Entertainment), Mr. Anthony Ifeanya (Petroleum) and Mr Paulinus Onyeaka (Housing).
In their similar reactions, the Commissioners pledged to work for the collective development of the state.
Newly confirmed commissioner for Finance Hon. Ifeatu Onejeme thanked the House of Assembly for finding them worthy to serve in the government of Anambra state.
Onejeme also assured that the manifesto of Governor Charles Soludo will be implemented to the fullest to guarantee a liveable and prosperous Anambra state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *