Anambra Assembly Inaugurates 29 Standing Committees 

Raymond Ozoji, Awka
The 7th Anambra State House of Assembly has inaugurated 29 standing committees together with their chairmen and deputy chairmen.
Speaker of the House and member representing Ayamelum state constituency Rt. Hon. Uche Okafor who reeled out the committees yesterday as soon as the House reconvened after its recess, said the committees should swing into action immediately and embark on familiarisation visits to the ministries, departments, parastatals and agencies of government within the scope of their oversight duties and acquaint themselves with their new assignments.
Okafor however outlined the various committees alongside the chairmen and deputy chairmen to include: Finance and Appropriation Committee – chairman Hon. Obinna Chris Emeneka, deputy chairman Hon. Nonso Okafor. Trade, Commerce and Industry Committee – chairman Hon. Charles Chinedu Obima, deputy chairman Hon. Barr. Douglas Egbuna.
Committee on Environment – chairman Hon. Edward Ibuzo, deputy chairman Hon. Lawrence Ezeudu. Police, Security and Boundary Matters Committee — chairman Hon. Onyebuchi Offor, deputy chairman Hon. John Nwaokoye. Local Government and Chieftancy Matters Committee — chairman  Hon. Dr.Pete Ibida, deputy chairman Hon. Emeka Aforka.
Screening and Election Matters Committee — chairman Rt. Hon. Dr. Paschal Agbodike, deputy chairman, Hon. Dr.Tim Ifedioramma. Committee on House Services — chairman Hon. Barr. Innocent Uzoma Enyi, deputy chairman Hon. Sunny Ozobialu.
Social Development, Gender and Children Affairs Committee — chairman Hon. Nonso Okafor, deputy chairman Hon. Beverly Nkemdiche. Tenders Board and Procurement Committee — chairman Hon. Barr. Chudi Ezewunne, deputy chairman Hon. Johnbosco Obi. Committee on Youth Empowerment, Creative Industry and Sports — chairman Hon. Noble Igwe, deputy chairman Hon. Carter Nnamdi Umeh.
Public Accounts Committee — chairman Hon. Somto Udeze, deputy chairman Hon. Pete Ibida. Information and Communications Committee — chairman Hon. Dr. Okechukwu Okoye, deputy chairman Hon. Barr.Innocent Uzoma Enyi. Culture, Tourism and Diaspora Matters Committee — chairman Hon. Emmanuel Nwafor, deputy chairman Hon.Ebele Ejiofor.
Committee on Tertiary Education — chairman Hon. Beverly Nkemdiche, deputy chairman Hon. Dr. Okechukwu Okoye. Basic Education Committee — chairman Hon. Ejike Okechukwu, deputy chairman Hon. Onyebuchi Offor. Judiciary and Justice Committee — chairman Hon. Barr. Douglas Egbuna, deputy chairman Hon. Barr. Chidi Udemadu.
Public Petitions Committee — chairman Hon. Emeka Aforka, deputy chairman Ejike Okechukwu. Committee on Agriculture — chairman Hon. John Nwokoye, deputy chairman Hon. Patrick Udeoba. Committee on Housing — chairman Hon. Lawrence Ezeudu, deputy chairman Hon. Sunny Ozobialu. Transport Committee — chairman Hon. Patrick Udeoba, deputy chairman Hon. Chukwuma Okoye.
Committee on Internally Generated Revenue — chairman Hon. Chukwuma Okoye, deputy chairman Hon.Nonso Okafor. Public Utilities Committee — chairman Hon. Barr. Chidi Udemadu, deputy chairman Hon. Noble Igwe.
Committee on Lands, Survey and Town Planning — chairman Hon. Ifeanyi Chiekwu, deputy chairman Hon. Charles Obima. Committee on Works — chairman Hon. Dr. Tim Ifedioramma, deputy chairman Hon. Emmanuel Nwafor. Sustainable Development Goals, Economic Planning and Donor Agencies Committee — chairman Hon. Ebele Ejiofor, deputy chairman Hon. Sunny Ozobialu.
Committee on Health — chairman Hon. Carter Nnamdi Umeh, deputy chairman Hon. Obinna Emeneka. Rules and Business Committee — chairman Hon. Dr. G. Nnamdi Okafor, deputy chairman Hon. Emeka Aforka. Pilgrimage, Ethics and Privileges Committee — chairman Hon. Sunny Ozobialu, deputy chairman Hon. Barr. Innocent Uzoma Enyi. Committee on Civil Society Organisations, Establishments and Labour Matters — chairman Hon. JohnBosco Obi, deputy chairman Hon. Noble Igwe.
The Speaker therefore charged his colleagues to be responsive to their official assignments. He made reference to rule No.17 (page 103) of the House standing order which he said required them to conduct committee meetings even as he also charged chairmen of the various committees to as a matter of urgency commence activities in the committees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: