Anambra Assembly Mourns Departed Colleagues 

Raymond Ozoji, Awka

Anambra State House of Assembly has conducted three valedictory sessions  in the last one month.

The House is equally expected to conduct another farewell legislative session to Frank-Anthony Igboka who was recently murdered in cold blood in his SUV car by hired assassins in Nimo, Njikoka local government area of Anambra state.

Frank-Anthony Igboka was the lawmaker who represented Njikoka 2 state constituency between 2003 and 2007 in the Anambra State House of Assembly. Until his recent demise, he was the President-General of Nimo Development Union.

The 6th state assembly had conducted three legislative proceedings for some departed colleagues as mark of last respect to them.

First, it was a former lawmaker Hon. Joseph Uba who represented Nnewi-south constituency from 2003 to 2007. Then next was the valedictory session held in honour of Hon. Okechukwu Echezona who was the representative of Orumba-south in the state assembly.

The death of the incumbent representative of Onitsha-South 1 in the outgoing 6th legislature Hon. Patrick Aniuno was most shocking because he was one of the most vibrant and proactive lawmakers in the current assembly.

His valedictory session was ladened with tears as the Speaker of the House Rt. Hon. Rita Maduagwu recounted his useful as well as thought-provoking contributions to debates and legislative proceedings.

Hon. Paddy as he was fondly called by colleagues and friends would be remembered for his stance during the impeachment plot on the Speaker, Rita Maduagwu.

Paddy and a handful of other lawmakers in the 6th assembly stood their grounds firmly insisting that the Speaker had not committed any impeachable offence and can not be removed from office.

It would be recalled also that the 6th Anambra Assembly had lost one Hon. Tochukwu Austine Mmegbuanaeze sometime last year. He was the representative of Idemili-North state constituency untill his untimely demise.

He was replaced by his wife Mrs. Nkolika Mmegbuanaeze thereafter who is currently serving as the lawmaker representing the constituency.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: