Anambra Lawmakers Task Obiano To Sustain Tempo Of Development

…screen commissioner-nominees

Raymond Ozoji, Awka

Lawmakers in the 6th Anambra legislature took turns yesterday during plenary to urge Governor Willie Obiano to sustain the tempo of development in the state as he officially commenced his second term after his inauguration last week.

The lawmakers, who stood on the motion moved by Nikky Ugochukwu of Orumba-south constituency commending the governor for his landslide victory at the 2017 governorship polls as well as his subsequent swearing-in ceremony, noted that his remarkable achievements in his first tenure earned him the goodwill and mandate of the people for another term.

The mover of the motion said history was made when Governor Obiano won in all the 21 local government areas of Anambra state and was unanimously re-elected by Ndi-Anambra thereby urging the governor to sustain the speed of infrastructural development in the state.

Uche Okafor of Ayamelum state constituency while urging the governor not to relent in his developmental strides, took cognisance of the fact that Governor Obiano has never failed workers in the payment of their salaries and other benefits. To this end, the lawmaker stressed the need for the institution of more developmental projects across the state.

The lawmaker representing Njikoka 1 state constituency Dr.Timothy Ifedioramma was of the opinion that the governor required the support of the citizenry for him to sustain the tempo of development in the state urging all and sundry to rally round the governor to enable him to replicate more projects across Anambra state.

While the Deputy-Speaker of the 6th assembly Barr. Harford Ikechukwu Oseke of Awka-south 2 state constituency noted that Governor Willie Obiano was fully prepared to serve Ndi-Anambra in his second term, he pointed out that the governor’s inaugural speech gave hope to the people of Anambra state.

Meanwhile, the screening committee of the House, headed by the Deputy-Speaker, Oseke, is to screen and scrutinise commissioner-nominees penciled down by Governor Obiano and sent to the legislature.   

Presenting the governor’s request contained in a letter, the Speaker of the House, Rita Maduagwu, said the governor requested the lawmakers to do justice to the list of nominees sent to it for examination and confirmation.

The nominees include Dr. Uju Nwogu, Ifeatu Onegeme, Mark Okoye, Greg Obi, Dr. Joe Akabuike, Obi Nwankwo, Prof. Kate Azuka Omenugha, Mr. C.Don Adinuba, Mike Okonkwo, Uche Okafor, Dr .Christian Madubuko , Dr. Obiekezie Theresa Nkechi, Engr. Emeka Ezenwanne and Marcel Ifejiofor.

The Speaker therefore referred the list of commissioner-nominees to the screening committee for onward assessment and confirmation.

The screening committee is expected to report to the House on Thursday for the decision of the legislature on the nominees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *