Anambra Legislature Confirms Appointment Of Transition Committee Chairmen

lawmaker rejects Anambra-east chairmanship nominee

Raymond Ozoji, Awka

The Anambra State House of Assembly on Thursday confirmed the appointment of transition committtee chairmen for the 21 local government areas in the state.

The confirmation was effected when the House dissolved plenary and reverted  to committee of the whole where the Speaker of the House Barr. Rita Maduagwu read out the names of the chairmen and members of the transition committee.

But mere anarchy broke out when the chairmanship nominee for Anambra-East local government area Mr. Cyril Okafor was mentioned by the Speaker.

When asked to confirm the list, the member repesenting Anambra-East constituency Hon. Obinna Chris Emeneka said there was a petition before him where in Cyril Okafor was accused of financial impropriety at Nwafor Orizu College of Education  Nsugbe Anambra-East council area.

Emeneka explained that apart from the allegation of financial impropriety, the chairmanship nominee also undermined the integrity of the State House of Assembly  by allegedly posting false information on the social media where Cyril Okafor purportedly accused lawmakers of misappropriating constituency funds.

As a result, Emeneka moved that Cyril Okafor be stepped down until the issues militating against his confirmation were sorted out.

Meanwhile the majority leader of the House Hon. Victor Jideofor Okoye asvised the House to set up an adhoc committee to look into the matter just as the Speaker also added that a three-man committee would be set up to address the issues while members of the transition committee should be confirmed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *