Anambra Legislature Resumes, Elects Transition Committee Members 

Raymond Ozoji, Awka

The Anambra State House of Assembly on Tuesday resumed plenary after a long vacation due to the 2019 general elections.

The plenary, which was presided over by the Deputy Speaker of the House Rt. Hon. Harford Ikechukwu Oseke amongst other salient issues, adopted the letter from the state governor Chief Willie Obiano who requested that the House elect chairmen and members of transition committees  for the 21 local government areas of the state .

Members of the House also confirmed the names read out by the Deputy Speaker as it affected their respective constituencies and local government areas. After the electoral college, the House reverted to plenary.

Oseke said during the committee of the whole that some changes and amendments were made, adding that they would be addressed in due course.

The House however confirmed the Transition Committee Members and urged them to serve diligently. They also observed a one minute silence for the member representing Onitsha-South 1 Hon. Patrick Aniuno who passed on recently after a brief illness.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *