Buhari Grants Amnesty To Enahoro, Ambrose Alli, Others

President Muhammadu Buhari has granted presidential pardon to 2,600 inmates nationwide.

Out of the said number, President Buhari granted amnesty to five ex-convicts among whom are the late Professor Ambrose Ali, the late Chief Anthony Enahoro, ex Lt. Col Moses Effiong, Major E. J Olanrewaju and Mr Ajay I Olusola Babalola.

Speaking at a news conference in Abuja, Minister of Interior, Rauf Aregbesola, explained that after the release of the first phase of inmates, the committee on Presidential amnesty will continue to meet regularly to consider those who deserve the benefit.

Also speaking on the occasion, the Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami, said the United Nations had called on all nations of the world to reduce the number of inmates in custodial centres in view of social distancing attitude.

While describing the flag off of the 2020 presidential pardon as historic, Mr Malami said the process of selecting beneficiaries started in 2018.

He also urged the community to open their hearts and receive the beneficiaries without stigmatisation.

Channels TV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: