Ekiti Speaker, Deputy Impeached, 10 Others Suspended

The Ekiti State House of Assembly on Thursday removed the Speaker, Kola Oluwawole; and his deputy, Sina Animasaun.

Their removal was spearheaded by the three All Progressives Congress lawmakers in the Assembly, alongside some aggrieved Peoples Democratic Party members.

The removal came five days to the end of the tenure of Governor Ayodele Fayose on October 15.

The Assembly also reinstated the former Deputy Speaker, Segun Adewumi, who was recently removed by the lawmakers.

A member of the APC, Gboyega Aribisogan, was elected the new Leader of Business.

The session suspended the two impeached principal officers and 10 others loyal to Fayose for 125 legislative days.

The 10 members suspended alongside the two principal officers are the spokesperson of the Assembly, Dr. Samuel Omotoso; Wale Onigiobi, Wale Ayeni, Dare Pelemọ, Jeje Samuel, Dayo Akinleye, Ayodele Fajemilehin, Temitope Fasanmi, Tunji Akinyele and Sanya Aladeyelu.

(The Punch)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: