How Luka Modric Won FIFA’s Best Player Award

Luka Modric of Real Madrid has won the Best FIFA Men’s Player Award, just after he was also named UEFA Player of the Year.

He beat Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah to scoop the award announced Monday at Royal Festival Hall in London. The voting was done by coaches, team captains and media men from FIFA nations.

Just like in the UEFA award, it was the first time, there is a new name on The Best FIFA Men’s Player trophy. Cristiano Ronaldo won the previous two awards.

But Modric is now being rewarded for his superlative 2017/18 season that saw the Croatian midfield maestro reach new heights.

He was awarded the adidas Golden Ball at the FIFA Club World Cup before playing an integral role in Real Madrid’s third consecutive UEFA Champions League trophy.

The Croatian was the metronomic lynchpin at the heart of Los Blancos midfield throughout the 2017/18 campaign.

He also played a key role in helping his country to the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia and then producing superlative performances at the finals.

As noted “Modric’s tireless running, key goals and outstanding leadership qualities helped guide Croatia to the final against France, his nation’s finest performance at the global finals.

Brazilian Marta was named The Best FIFA Women’s Player, while Lennart Thy took home the FIFA Fair Play Award

The legendary Pele was among football greats that congratulated Modric and Marta after the announcement of the awards.

All the FIFA Best:
Men’s Player: Luka Modric
Women’s Player: Marta
Men’s Coach: Didier Deschamps
Women’s Coach: Reynald Pedros
Goalkeeper: Thibaut Courtois
Puskás Award: Mo Salah
Fan Award: Peru supporters
Fair Play Award: Lennart Thy
World11: David De Gea; Dani Alves, Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Raphael Varane; Eden Hazard, N’Golo Kante, Luka Modric; Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *