Sack Oshiomhole Now, APC Protesters Demand

Some aggrieved members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have demanded the sacking of the party’s National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole.

The protesters, under the aegis of ‘APC Patriotic Stakeholders’ Forum,’ on Thursday, marched to the party’s national secretariat in Abuja, accusing Oshiomhole of promoting disintegration in the party, especially in Edo State.

The protesters called on President Muhammadu Buhari; a former governor of Lagos State, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu; and other leaders and stakeholders of the party to prevail on Oshiomhole to resign his position as the national chairman of the party.

Speaking on behalf of the protesters, Iyoha Osaigbovo, said, “I’m from Edo State and I am a member of the APC Patriotic Stakeholders Forum. We have come to save our party. The person that we gave the mantle to, he is the person attacking the constitution.

“We are begging Mr President to please save this party. We do not see any reason why Adams Oshiomhole should be allowed to destroy this party.”

But the Chief Press Secretary to the APC National Chairman, Simon Ebegbulem, said the protest was sponsored by the Edo State Government and the protesters should be ignored.

“The so-called protest was led by Obaseki’s special adviser (politics). They are not even APC members. It’s a sponsored protest, sponsored by the Edo State Government,” he added.

Edo APC NASS caucus splits

Meanwhile, some members of the Edo State caucus in the National Assembly have backed the National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, Adams Oshiomhole, in the battle between him and Governor Godwin Obaseki.

The caucus, which addressed journalists in Abuja on Thursday, blamed the crisis on Obaseki, asking the governor to issue a fresh proclamation for proper inauguration of the Edo State House of Assembly.

The Deputy Majority Leader of the House of Representatives, Peter Akpatason, who spoke on behalf of the caucus, was accompanied by two other members of the House, Julius Ihonvbere and Johnson Oghuma.

The statement presented by Akpatason was, however, signed by three others, namely Senator Francis Alimikhena, Patrick Aisowieren and Dennis ldahosa.

But Aisowieren and Idahosa later denied knowledge of the press conference.

Aisowieren, via a text message, said, “I am not aware of it,” while Idahosa said, “I didn’t attend any caucus meeting today as stated in the statement.”

(The Punch)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *