Salami, Soludo’s New Economic Advisory Council Replaces Osinbajo’s EMT

President Muhammadu Buhari has replaced his Economic Management Team with an Economic Advisory Council.

The replaced EMT was chaired by the Vice-President, Prof Yemi Osinbajo, while the new EAC is chaired by Prof. Doyin Salami.

Aside from Osinbajo, the members of the EMT included the Minister of Finance/Budget/National Planning, Zainab Ahmed; Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Godwin Emefiele; Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment, Adeniyi Adebayo; and Minister of Agriculture,  Sabo Nanon.

Others included Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed; Accountant-General of the Federation, Ahmed Idris; Group Managing Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, Mele Kyari; and the Director-General of the Budget Office of the Federation, Ben Akabueze.

The new EAC members are Dr Mohammed Sagagi (vice-chairman); Prof Ode Ojowu; Dr Shehu Yahaya; Dr Iyabo Masha; Prof Chukwuma Soludo; Mr Bismark Rewane; and  Dr Mohammed Adaya Salisu (Secretary).

In a statement, the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mr Femi Adesina,  said, “This advisory council will replace the current Economic Management Team and will be reporting directly to the President.

“The Economic Advisory Council will advise the President on economic policy matters, including fiscal analysis, economic growth and a range of internal and global economic issues working with the relevant cabinet members and heads of monetary and fiscal agencies.

“The EAC will have monthly technical sessions as well as scheduled quarterly meetings with the President. The chairman may, however, request for unscheduled meetings if the need arises.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *